//
you're reading...
Entertainment

Yay for Good TV

My middle brother has discovered Hell on Wheels.  I’ll have to ask him if I can take any credit for this, but I think he heard about it elsewhere.  It was my youngest brother who insisted the critics were idiots when I told him it wasn’t weel received last year.  I’m glad I gave it a go, because it is now central to my awesome Sunday TV night.  For those of you who haven’t seen it, but are thinking about it, the first few eps of season 1 are seemingly slow, but once the show hooks you, you’re in.  Anson Mount (Cullen Bohannon) plays one of those great anti-heroes that will go down in Television history.

My other Sunday night fave is Copper.  It just started up on BBC America, and although I enjoyed ep.1, it was ep.2 that made me a believer.  It’s a violent as Hell on Wheels, but we have an actual hero of sorts in the piece.  Kevin Corcoran (Tom Westin-Jones) is mostly good, although he can dispense with Bohannon-level violence to met out justice.  Good supporting cast, too, so I’m ampt about this one.

I’m skipping the rest of my Sunday night stuff because True Blood just ended for the season and I really don’t care what happens from here.  Once Upon a Time is still reruns and apparently The Mentalist has moved to Sunday. . . don’t judge, it’s a back-up show.

So here I am into Monday night and this fantastic ep of ALPHAS reminded me how this really promising show is fleshing itself out in its Sophomore year.  ALPHAS was fun, in a quirky way, in Season 1, but Season 2 increases the drama and danger for our heroes.  As aunt of a highly functioning autistic child, I applaud Ryan Cartwright’s performance as Gary (it’s spot-on).  I was afraid they were dispensing with Nina for a moment, but they’ve brought her back in, which is good, because she’s an anti-hero in her own right.

I promise to write full blogs for each show soon.  I’m just excited to BE excited about TV again.

About clocklearf

I've wanted to be a writer since the third grade.

Discussion

One thought on “Yay for Good TV

  1. Another really cool thing to watch on television is nothing at all. Furthermore, if you act very interested in watching a set that isn’t even on, other people in the room will provide you with entertaining facial expressions, and ridiculous comments. When that happens, turn to them with index finger to lips, and say: “SHHHHH!” Even better if you have popcorn at the time. Also, this plan saves energy, except for what it took to pop the popcorn.

    Posted by thevanbrown | August 28, 2012, 7:59 am

Leave a Reply

Tweets

