//
you're reading...
Entertainment

Not So Alone, After All

While I was at the Publix tonight I overheard two women who knew each other chatting.  One mentioned that her husband was having a bonfire tonight and the other one was getting ready for a trip to a cabin.  Since my family DOES NOT, and NEVER HAS done much in the way of anything social I was jealous of their conversation.  I see folks posting on Facebook all the time about all the stuff they are DOING but this was in my face proof that even ladies a few years advanced from me were having a hell of a lot more fun than me.

Here’s where I mention I grocery shop alone.  I suppose a family member would come along if I allowed them to grab shit willy-nilly but I’m a couponer.  I’ve seen more than one family couponing together but it would take an act of god to get mine to do it.

Next I stopped off at Wal-Mart for some vino.  I had a bit of troubling getting to it as there was a group of enthusiastic women occupying most of the isle.  Once they noticed me they were really sweet.  I could tell they were in the midst of a rather large wine purchase and it made me sad that I was buying one huge bottle to take home and drink alone.  Coming on the heals of the Publix encounter this one almost undid me, but I told myself to suck it up and keep moving.

Still wasn’t done with the grocery shopping so I headed onto Kroger.  By this point I was really tired and after loading up on some produce I drifted down the isles hunting for bargains.  Lost in my own reverie I’m not even sure I realized there were other customers next to me until I heard, “Didn’t we just see you in Wal-Mart?”

I stared blankly for a minute trying to remember if I had been in Wal-Mart (tired, remember?) and then said yes and as they started talking, I discovered it was the wine ladies.  They had left about $100 worth of wine behind at Wal-Mart because the cashier insisted on carding every single person in the party; they were visiting from out of town and being driven about by an under-age niece.

So as they explained to me how the whole thing when down I felt myself becoming happier.  Sure, I was still going home alone but the universe allowed me a much needed moment of camaraderie.  I ending our conversation with the remark, “That is the stupidest thing I have heard of in a long time,” and they agreed.

And the lesson of all this, beyond the oft occurring one that people are basically good and friendly, is that I need to be the one making plans for the family.  I can’t make the adults participate but the kids are always up for something to do.

About clocklearf

I've wanted to be a writer since the third grade.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Tweets

